Free shipping on all orders - Enter code: FREESHIPPING on checkout

International Woolmark Prize 2017 nominees

Posted on

Wim Bruynooghe

Wim Bruynooghe

Last week the nominees for the prestigious International Woolmark Prize 2017 were announced and you may well have recognised some of the names (Wim Bruynooghe and NEO design are both on the list). The prize supports emerging design talent -  a cause after our own hearts - and recognises outstanding designers across the world. It was originally launched in 1953 and Yves Saint Laurent and Karl Lagerfeld took the joint honours in 1954 so it's a prize with an impressive pedigree. 

NEO Design

NEO Design

This year the Woolmark Prize has been restructured to include an Innovation Award, created to celebrate the most unique and creative fabric or yarn development. We would love to see the winner of this category in particular come up with something ultra creative and cruelty free. Finalists for the Woolmark Prize are drawn from all over the world and Fashion Scout is a nominating body for the prize - the full list of nominees is below.

International Woolmark Prize Trophy

The trophy for the 2017 prize has been designed by LA based multidisciplinary artist Jonathan Zawada and we're slightly in love with it. It's a thing of beauty, fashioned from marine debris bakelite, which is created entirely from recycled plastic collected from Australian shorelines.

Moisés Nieto

Moisés Nieto

As well as the recognition of the award itself there are financial incentives for nominees - all of the 65 global nominees receive $2,000 each to help with the development of a submission piece for the regional finals to be held in Dubai, London, Milan, New York, Seoul and Sydney throughout July 2017. There are also prizes of $70,000 for the regional winners and $200,000 each for one global menswear and one global womenswear winner. A huge boost if you're an up and coming designer looking to get established and an exciting time for those keen to discover the next generation of design talent.

Aika Alemi

Aika Alemi

The Woolmark Prize nominees for Europe are:


Arte Antwerp (Belgium)

MIRO SABO (Czech Republic)

22/4 (Germany)

Miaoran (Italy)

Jazz Chris (Netherlands)

NEO design (Serbia)

Palomo Spain (Spain)


MiiN (Turkey)


Wim Bruynooghe (Belgium)

Tereza Rosalie Kladošová (Czech Republic)

Mark Kenly Domino Tan (Denmark)

Vladimir Karaleev (Germany)

Brognano (Italy)

AIKA ALEMI (Kazakhstan)

David Laport (Netherlands)

Moisés Nieto (Spain)

Bashaques' (Turkey)

More Posts

Join Our Mailing List To Stay Up To Date With New Designers

Search our store